UND Center for Community Engagement

Grace: Day One

In Students' Reflections on March 15, 2011 at 12:00 am

Spring break 2011! I feel as though I am confused, because typically this time I would prefer going on a vacation somewhere with hot weather and preferably an ocean. But not this year, instead I chose to go on a road trip of North Dakota to learn and explore a state I really do not know much about. I chose to willingly take the time to be a little less selfish and become more self-less to learn about the culture and politics of a state I have came to live in for the past four years. This blog will let you in on how I took in everything I learned and how it has helped me to expand my opinions.

Today we began our trip bright and early 6a.m., with a couple minor set-backs we were on the road and on our way to Bismark. Our first stop was at the State Capitol. As a group we were all allowed to sit in and observe during the legislative meeting. To my advantage, I was able to sit next to one of the representatives, Corey Mock and get a first hand experience.

As an early childhood major, I am not as knowledgeable about the exact workings which take place within the capitol. After sitting beside Corey Mock, however, he was able to walk me through the process and explain what exactly was taking place. He was able to explain to me what bills he represents and coincidently, a majority of them dealt with education.

One of the bills he told me about directly affected college students such as myself. The overall accomplishment of the bill was to explain directly where student’s tuition money was being payed toward. Rather than simply giving students a tuition statement, this bill would have a list of where the money was to be used.

I definitely found myself to be more interested with the legislators, after realizing how much they are affecting my world around me- such as my college tuition. So far, this trip has already been eye opening for me and helping me to see a bigger picture.

  1. Way to go Grace! We are proud of how you chose to spend your Spring break. Keep up the good work and we look forward to your next entry.

Leave a Reply

