UND Center for Community Engagement

Michelle, Day 4 – Fort Yates

In Uncategorized on March 16, 2012 at 10:35 am

I can be anywhere in the world, but I choose to come on this bus tour. Riding on the red state vehicle van has been an awesome experience. I was able to remove out the many stereotypes that were tucked in my head about rural towns and tribal communities. 

We visited a tribal community. Fort Yates was an amazing experience. I was not expecting the community having a college that utilizes the facility to its full potential. I enjoyed visiting Sitting Bull College, and hearing all the great programs and efforts that they are doing.

Our service project was very meaningful. I was able to help a nutrition center that served the elder. Then we got back in the red state vehicle and headed to Bismarck, the state capital. I was so excited to meet the governor. It was a nice peaceful meeting to hear the Governor Dalrymple speak about oil and the western part of the state. It was very kind of him taking the time to visit us UND students.

Leave a Reply

