UND Center for Community Engagement

Yuma, Day 3 – Regent

In Uncategorized on March 16, 2012 at 10:14 am

We came to Regent, ND yesterday, driving through the Enchanted Highway. I was so excited to visit the town because I saw many sculptures on the enchanted highway. I was very curious about what is coming next. I also felt “who did make it?” and “how did the person make it?” Gary Greff, who hosted us, made them. He also has been constructing a motel in the town, utilizing an old school building. I think his idea is great because both the sculptures and the motel attract a lot of people to come to Regent. According to him, it is necessary to do something unique compared to other towns near Regent in order to attract people and develop the town. This is a different aspect from aspects Cando has. Regent is competing with close towns. However, Cando does not compete. Cando starts services which residents want and which are not offered. They do not compete with other businesses in the town.

Today, we helped cleaning the motel’s rooms under the construction. The workers were constructing the rooms from early morning to late night. I felt that they really like Regent and want it to develop. After the service project, we visited the Hettinger County Historical Society Museum and the gift shop. I was so glad that I was able to participate in the service project because I feel I joined the part of the community. Now, I want the business to succeed, want many people to come to the town, and want to know how it develops. I think Regent has great assets, such as land offered to Gary by farmers, metals to create the sculptures, old building he can reuse, history and culture preserved in the museum, people’s contribution to remodeling the old building, etc. I want to come back to visit Regent again and see how the motel we helped has been changed.

We left Regent in the afternoon and were driving towards Sitting Bull College in Fort Yates, ND. This town is different from other towns we visited. We did not have enough time to get to know this town. I cannot wait to learn about it tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

